Certified Professional for Usability and User Experience Engineering Foundation Level

Introduction to UXQCC Foundation Level Certification program:

The Foundation Level of the certification program for the Certified Professional for Usability and User Experience Engineering addresses all persons and professional areas involved in the development of software, mobile or Internet applications. This includes software developers, GUI programmers, SCRUM masters, project managers and personnel, organizers, supervisors, technical staff, IT auditors and quality assurance representatives as well as management personnel in charge of software quality. The Foundation Level knowledge ensures that definitions and basic skills are obtained both about the human being (for example, regarding perception, mental models, faulty behavior/errors) and about the techniques for developing interactive systems (for example, interaction styles, modeling techniques, dialog principles).

Each section of this syllabus has a cognitive level learning and cognitive Levels of Knowledge associated with it.


Learning Objectives / Cognitive Levels of Knowledge

Each section of this syllabus has a cognitive level associated with it:

K1 Proficiency / Knowledge: Knowledge of precise details such as terms, definitions, facts, data, rules, principles, theories, characteristics, criteria, procedures; candidates are able to recall and express knowledge.

K2 Understanding: Candidates are able to explain or summarize facts in their own words, give examples, understand contexts, interpret tasks. This includes being able to transfer the contents from one notation into another (for example, words into a diagram), to explain and summarize the contents, and finally to derive future developments from the contents.

Selected sections of the Foundation Level:

K3 Apply: Knowledge transfer for problem solution; Candidates can apply their knowledge in new situations and use abstractions or form their own abstractions. Ability to use the acquired knowledge in new specific situations, for example, by applying certain rules, laws or theories. For example, an IT student should be able to program different sorting algorithms in any assembler language or a math student must be able to reason mathematically according to the valid rules.

Not part of the Foundation Level: K4 Analysis: Candidates are able to partition a problem to understand how it is structured; they are able to discover inconsistencies, recognize correlations and derive conclusions, and distinguish between facts and interpretations. This includes, for example, identification of the individual elements, determination of the relationships between the elements and recognition of the design principles. The Analysis level requires a higher knowledge level than Understanding and Apply, because it assumes that both the contents and the structure of the learning matter are well understood. For example, the learning activity of art history students discovering the elements of a painting that determine the style and assigning them to a specific epoch belongs to this level.

K5 Composition: Candidates are able to build a new structure or create a new meaning on the basis of several elements; they are able to suggest new approaches, design new schemas or conceptualize substantiated assumptions.

K6 Judgment: Candidates are able to assess the value of ideas and materials and use them to weigh alternatives against each other, select them, make decisions and give reasons for them, and to deliberately transfer knowledge to others, for example, by providing flow charts.

The Examination

The Foundation Level Certificate examination will be based on this syllabus. Answers to examination questions may require the use of material based on more than one section of this syllabus. All sections of the syllabus may be included in the examination. The format of the examination is multiple choice. Exams may be taken as part of an accredited training course or taken independently (e.g. at an examination center). The training providers approved by IBUQ are listed on the IBUQ website (www.ibuq.org).

Level of Detail

This syllabus is intended to allow internationally consistent training and examination. This syllabus comprises the following components to reach this goal:

  • General learning objectives describing the intention of the Foundation Level
  • A list of information to teach, including a description, and references to additional sources if required
  • Learning objectives for each knowledge area describing the objective cognitive learning outcome of the course and the attitude that the participant is to achieve
  • A list of terms that participants must be able to recall and understand
  • A description of the key concepts to be taught, including sources such as accepted technical literature, norms or standards

The syllabus content is not a description of the entire Usability and User Experience fields of knowledge. It reflects the scope and level of detail relevant for the learning objectives of the Foundation Level.

UXQCC Foundation Level Certification program

Total training time: 2.5 days, 1200 minutes (20 hours)

Day 1

  1. Principles of Usability (K1) – 90 minutes
    • Necessity and benefits of Usability (K1, 4 LO, 90 minutes)
  2. Human-Machine Interface (K3) – 390 minute
    • Software ergonomics and design philosophies (K1, 3 LO, 45 minutes)
    • Human information processing and its impact on User Experience (K3, 9 LO, 260 minutes)
    • Standards, norms and style guides? (K2, 6 LO, 85 minutes)

Day 2

  1. Usability and User Experience Engineering – Part 1 (K3) – 480 minutes
    • Principles of Usability Engineering (K2, 5 LO, 100 minutes)
    • Analysis and concept phase (K2 and K3, 5 LO, 180 minutes)
    • Design phase (K2 and K3, 5 LO, 50 minutes)
    • Prototyping phase (K2 and K3, 5 LO, 150 minutes)

Day 3

  1. Usability and User Experience Engineering – Part 2 (- K3) – 240 minutes
    • Evaluation phase (K2 and K3, 2 LO, 240 minutes)


Enroll Now